About Vermiculite

Vermiculite – raw material for the future.

Under the protected trademarks of MIPROTEC® and THERMAX®, we produce and sell efficient vermiculite products applicable in the areas of industrial high-temperature insulation, private fireplaces and furnaces, and fire protection.
In a hot pressing process especially developed for our products, expanded vermiculite is pressed into large boards. THERMAX® and MIPROTEC® stand out due to their easy handling and workability. They are lightweight and can be worked easily and with minimal dust generation. They are therefore especially well-suited for drywall installation. Vermiculite can be conveniently cut or otherwise modified with any woodworking tool. Unused material can be composted. For application as drywall board, the light weight of the material and its easy workmanship are key.
THERMAX® and MIPROTEC® boards are resistant to mold and bacteria (VDI 6022), and are suitable for use in ventilation and air conditioning systems.

We provide the appropriate insulation for every temperature.

Vermiculite is a material with a long tradition and a promising future. Its outstanding technical properties make it an ideal thermal insulation material for our products. Vermiculite will not burn, nor is it combustible. Pressed vermiculite has a smooth, solid surface and – once shaped – is not susceptible to losing its form. TECHNO PHYSIK Engineering GmbH uses individually developed tools to produce specific molded parts to accommodate almost any furnace shape or creates them with high-precision CNC milling machines.

Vermiculite is:

  • Fibreless
  • Non-toxic
  • Odorless
  • Easily workable
  • Lightweight
  • Acid resistant
  • Fire resistant
CNC_Bearbeitung_1

Examples for application of THERMAX® molded parts

  • Induction furnaces
  • Aluminum smelting furnaces
  • Automotive industry
  • Foundries
  • Industrial smokestacks
  • Power plant boilers
  • Coking plants
  • Metals
  • Smelting
  • Metallurgical furnaces
  • Waste incineration plants
  • Open fireplaces, furnaces, and tiled stoves
  • Ship building
  • Forging furnaces
  • Steel mills
  • Tunnel kiln / tunnel kiln car
  • Fluidized bed combustion systems
  • Sugar refineries

Vermiculite is a natural, surface-mined mineral in the trilayer silicate group and is closely related to the more well-known mineral, mica. What makes this mineral special is its ability to release the water trapped within its layers when heated to approx. 1000 °C and to thereby expand to 15 or 20 times its original volume.
Due to the high temperature, the material is sterilized and thus germ-free. The so-called exfoliated (expanded) vermiculite is a straw-colored, bulk material with low volume weight.

Über Vermiculit

Vermiculit – Rohstoff für die Zukunft.

Unter den geschützten Markenbezeichnungen MIPROTEC® und THERMAX® produzieren und vertreiben wir leistungsstarke Produkte aus Vermiculit für die Bereiche industrielle Hochtemperaturdämmung, private Feuerstätten und Kamine sowie den Brandschutz.
In einem speziell für unsere Produkte entwickelten Heißpressverfahren wird expandiertes Vermiculit zu großen Platten verpresst. THERMAX®- und MIPROTEC®-Platten zeichnen sich durch eine besonders einfache Handhabung und Verarbeitung aus. Sie sind leicht, einfach und staubarm zu bearbeiten und deshalb bestens geeignet für den Trockenbau. Vermiculit lässt sich bequem mit jedem Holzbearbeitungswerkzeug zuschneiden und bearbeiten. Anfallende Materialreste können kompostiert werden. Für die Verwendung als Trockenbauplatte sind ferner Eigenschaften wie das geringe Gewicht und die leichte Bearbeitbarkeit wesentlich.
THERMAX®- und MIPROTEC®-Platten sind gegenüber Pilzen und Bakterien beständig (VDI 6022) und für den Einsatz in raumlufttechnischen Anlagen (RLT-Anlagen) geeignet.

Wir bieten für jede Temperatur die passende Isolierung.

Vermiculit ist ein Werkstoff mit langer Tradition und großer Zukunft. Seine herausragenden technischen Eigenschaften machen ihn zum idealen Wärmedämmbaustoff für unsere Produkte. Vermiculit ist weder brennbar noch entflammbar. Verpresstes Vermiculit hat eine feste, glatte Oberfläche und ist – einmal in Form gebracht – gegen Formveränderungen unempfindlich. Die TECHNO PHYSIK Engineering GmbH presst mit individuell angefertigten Werkzeugen spezifische Formteile für nahezu jede Ofenform oder erstellt sie mit hochpräzisen CNC-Fräsen.

Vermiculit ist:

  • faserfrei
  • ungiftig
  • geruchlos
  • kompostierbar
  • einfach zu bearbeiten
  • leicht
  • säurefest
  • feuerfest

Beispiele für Einsatzgebiete von THERMAX Formteilen

  • Aluminium Induktionsöfen
  • Aluminium-Schmelzöfen
  • Automobilindustrie
  • Gießereien
  • Industrie-Schornsteine
  • Kraftwerkskessel
  • Kokereien
  • Metall
  • Verhüttung
  • Metallurgische Öfen
  • Abfallverbrennungsanlagen
  • Offenes Feuer, Kamin- und Kachelöfen
  • Schiffbau
  • Schmiedeöfen
  • Stahlwerke
  • Tunnel Öfen / Tunnelofenwagen
  • Wirbelschichtverbrennungsanlagen
  • Zuckerfabriken

Vermiculit ist ein im Tagebau gewonnenes natürliches Mineral aus der Gruppe der Dreischichtsilikate, das mit dem besser bekannten Glimmer mineralogisch eng verwandt ist.
Das Besondere an diesem Mineral ist seine Fähigkeit, eingelagertes Zwischenschichtwasser bei entsprechender Temperaturbeaufschlagung von ca. 1000 °C – unter starker Volumenvergrößerung um das 15 bis 20-fache – abzugeben.
Durch die hohe Temperatur wird der Werkstoff sterilisiert, also keimfrei. Das sogenannte expandierte Vermiculit ist ein strohfarbenes, leicht fließendes Schüttgut mit niedrigem Volumengewicht.